President Obama – Leading with Values

President Barack Obama in Tampa October 25, 2012

Personally, I feel there is more to a President of the United States than just being the leader of the land-of-the-free, the Commander-in-Chief of the greatest military in the world and a person who makes decisions each day that not only affects hundreds of millions of people in our nation but has affects around the world for many generations to come.

That is just a fraction of who our President is and therefore, I like to know a person is open and honest about their beliefs, their views on humanity, women, marriage, world aide, our troops and veterans, education, healthcare, the economy and what has led them to be the person they have become.

I personally was raised with a Republican background, registered as Republican and voted as a Republican for my first few elections.

I have always listened to all sides and tried to put myself in the shoes of others before casting my ballots in any elections. I understand I am not just voting for myself but also for my Country. I have never considered myself to be judgmental or close-minded.

As I have grown older, raised a family and faced more of life’s challenges such as raising a child fighting a terminal illness, learning disabilities, fighting with insurance companies, having pre-existing conditions of my own and dealing with hers, I do see many things differently than others may see.

I have seen many denied life-saving treatments due to insurance issues in a country that’s said to have the best medical care available, but to whom?

I know I am not the only person that has changed. Our country has changed. Many people have faced changes. There are large groups of people that were in top-income brackets who suddenly found themselves relying on government assistance, not because they didn’t believe in working hard to support their family but because of a financial market that simply thought it didn’t have to answer to anybody, took risks with money it didn’t have and lost real peoples’ money, their life savings, retirements and suddenly, people who thought they had everything planned out, had nothing to show for it.

If there was a lesson in the last 5 or 6 years, it is the fact the bottom can fall out from almost anyone if everyone isn’t playing by the same set of rules!

During elections, Parties try to focus on things to get votes. Obviously, that makes sense. The voter however is the one making the final decision and therefore, as a voter, each one should know what their candidate stands for, who they stand with and what their intentions as President would be.

One of the biggest battles of this election is a very important issue, choice.

The Republicans want people to believe this is about abortion. That is not the case. A big part of this choice concerns women’s healthcare. This involves a great deal of issues. It also involves the fact Romney wants to de-fund Planned Parenthood. See the article, “Romney’s Women “Issues”” to learn more.

The fact is millions more of Americans have healthcare due to progress made during President Obama’s term. That includes women, children, men, multiple income brackets, people with pre-existing conditions, students, etc.

Mitt Romney wants to go in and repeal “Obamacare” (on his first day in office). That would undo everything in the previous paragraph. He says he would leave parts in. Mind you, Romney says things to win votes and then changes them depending on who he is speaking to BUT if you believe this part, then he said he would leave the part about pre-existing conditions. His terms are this. The person would have to have been insured and stayed insured. That would not cover someone who has a condition and possibly changes jobs, therefore changing insurance companies. This would not be including them. The new insurance company could still deny them.

In the case of women’s healthcare choices, there is no line in the sand here. It is not a decision to me of which side maybe has a better idea. This is plain and simple. When it comes to my body, my family planning, pregnancy, pap smears, cancer screenings, birth control, or any healthcare concerning any women, young adult or child, the government doesn’t need to be a part of any of those decisions. I know a country that has a part in the reproductive rights of women, CHINA. I don’t live there. I live in a free country and my vote will reflect my decision on keeping it that way.

Women For Obama

I have never thought to call my Congress Person, my Governor or my President to ask their opinion on whether it was a good time for me to have a child or let them know my concerns about my neighbor having too many kids or being unable to conceive. You know why? It’s none of their business!

You know what is their business? Helping to fund preventative medical care for those that can’t afford it, vaccines to prevent deadly outbreaks, studies to lead to cures and helping keep the land with the best healthcare moving forward. You know what has been one of the best healthcare achievements in decades? Obamacare.

Again, with all of the accomplishments that have happened regarding healthcare, the GOP wants the focus to be on abortion. Okay. So, how do they feel about abortion?

Most recently, one of the newest GOP announcements that have come up (this isn’t the first time) is about whether a woman would be able (yes, that means “get permission”) to have an abortion if she were raped and became pregnant.

ROMNEY ENDORSES RICHARD MOURDOCK (Rep. Candidate for US Senate) Mourdock: “I too certainly stand for life. I know there are some who disagree and I respect their point of view but I believe life begins at conception. The only exception I have to have an abortion is in that the case the life of the mother. I struggled with it myself for a long time but I came to realize life is a gift from God and I think even when life begins in the horrible situation of rape, that it is something God intended to happen.”

Mourdock isn’t alone here. The Republican Party’s Platform feels the same. They are just keeping it hush hush through the election. They have tried to get Richard Mourdock to withdraw his statement much like they tried to get Todd Akin to withdraw his. However, withdrawing your statement won’t mean you change your views or your vote will change when laws are written up in the House or Senate, does it.

Paul Ryan has written up and pushed his stand on the Right of Personhood which stands on the same ground as Richard Mourdock and Todd Akin.

The GOP, Republicans and many Christian groups have tried to turn this election into a vote for or against abortion. It is not about abortion. It is about choice. It is turning into more than just choices about healthcare. It is voting rights, healthcare choices and leading our country either forward or taking it back to times we have already fought through to gain the rights and equalities we have today.

I am a Christian women, 43 years old, white, a registered Republican and although I would have considered myself conservative back when I was in my 30’s, I would have never made my decisions differently or based on different thoughts than I do today.

REPUBLICAN WOMEN FOR OBAMA

I feel the Republican Party has gotten to a point where they believe their core beliefs and values are the only way people should live. Therefore, they want the laws and everyone in this Country to live that way or they should just do without and be penalized.

I don’t believe in a system where my values or beliefs should take away from another person’s freedoms. What does that say for freedom of religion, freedom of speech or having one of the most diverse nations in the world? To make that work in the United States would be living under a dictatorship.

The GOP has distorted the facts trying to get as many of their Party into office. Their own Party didn’t stand behind Romney.

Their Party has made it a point to say they back Israel, always. Yet, when asked in the debate what Romney would do (in a scenario) of receiving an emergency call with Israel under an imminent attack, Romney became upset and refused to answer the question. Has he never thought of this? This is a country that is always under the threat of an attack.

Yet, the GOP Party questions Obama’s stand with Israel?

OBAMA’S CONSISTENT STAND WITH ISRAEL

The fact is this.

What the GOP wants is a majority in the House and the Senate. That would give them the ability to write and pass legislation. With a President of their party, they would not have to worry about a Veto.

This would also open up their Party to nominate at least 2 Supreme Court Justices.

Imagine how many laws could be passed and changes could be made with all of this control in the hands of the GOP.

It won’t matter that Romney doesn’t answer question or what he does or doesn’t say. They are relying on those that just don’t want to vote for Obama or those higher income people not wanting to pay more taxes. Right now, they also are relying on those who are against abortion.

I ask you though, if a 12 year girl was raped and became pregnant, should she have to carry that child while she is still coping with the tragedy of being raped?

A child suffering through incest at home or a family members house gets pregnant, should she? What if they don’t know who the father is? She will have to face this person while carrying the baby even though she is still a baby herself who has just been traumatized, been assaulted and now is expected to go through more trauma and emotional abuse. Is that is okay?

I think the suicide rate of young adults, both young boys and girls, in our country is high enough due to bullying. If you don’t think rape is worse than bullying and isn’t something traumatic for a person to live through, can cause life-long trauma, PTSD and then making the victim have to be reminded each day while they carry the baby of their rapist inside, then maybe the GOP Party is for you. I don’t think most people feel that way though.

I want a President with values who believes in treating others as he would want to be treated, how he wants his wife and children to be treated. I want a President who can look through the eyes of others and see how they feel, talk to them and make decisions based on real people, not Party or political popularity.

Obama: Re: His faith, “In time I came to see my faith as being both a personal commitment to Christ and a commitment to my community.”

“These are not Democratic values. These are not Republican Values. They’re American Values.”

Belief: “For unto whom much is given is given, much shall be required.”

(View the above video to see more about the man behind the Presidency)

For a person to say they are a Christian, it is not just a title but more than that. I don’t see real Christian values in much of the GOP Party, its candidates or those pushing for them… I see a lot of people who just want to vote against Obama.